VKCL Transverter settings

Post Reply
VK5DF
Forum Novice
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:24 pm

VKCL Transverter settings

Post by VK5DF » Wed Nov 11, 2015 7:54 pm

Hi All

I have the usual setup of a 817 that i use for my IF rig and was hoping that i could get VKCL to except that when it is on 2m for that rig it would log that it was doing 23cm. There doesn't seem to be part in the help file for this setup page.

Has anyone got it to work that way, if so how?

Thanks
Daniel
VK5DF
PF94HW

User avatar
VK3ALB
Forum Diehard
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:56 am
Location: Geelong

Re: VKCL Transveerter settings

Post by VK3ALB » Thu Nov 12, 2015 11:35 am

Hi Dan,

It doesn't work that way. VKCL relies on OmniRig to poll the radio to get the operating frequency. There is no simple way to add a frequency offset to this configuration. Some of us have used micro controllers to manage transverter switching and adding frequency offsets but it's not plug & play. Better to use manual band selection in VKCL for this weekend and plan for something more elaborate in the summer.
Lou - VK3ALB

I'll decide how I enjoy my hobby.

User avatar
VK4TS
Forum Diehard
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: VKCL Transveerter settings

Post by VK4TS » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:11 pm

VKCL.PNG
VKCL Transvertor Offset...
Would that give you the detail you are after ?
Trent VK4TS
PO Box 275 Mooloolaba 4557
Mobile 0408 497 550 vk4ts@wia.org.au

User avatar
VK3ALB
Forum Diehard
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:56 am
Location: Geelong

Re: VKCL Transveerter settings

Post by VK3ALB » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:19 pm

Hi Trent,

What version of VKCL is that? It's not one of the normal software releases. I think one guy in VK4 uses a prototyping relay board that integrates with a specific version of VKCL. I can't get that to work without the DLL or board.

EDIT

I see this is option now available in the latest version of VKCL (3.12c). My understanding is that a board is needed to take a hardware input code and take actions based on the setup in this table. You need the DLL and the top16 board to make this page work.
Last edited by VK3ALB on Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Lou - VK3ALB

I'll decide how I enjoy my hobby.

VK5DF
Forum Novice
Posts: 39
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2013 4:24 pm

Re: VKCL Transveerter settings

Post by VK5DF » Thu Nov 12, 2015 12:22 pm

What do you put in thoes boxes to allow logging of 1296.200 when on say 144.200 on the FT-817 (Connected as radio 2). Its not that self explanatory how it works. I thought i had it by entering the offsets but didn't do it. I tried entering the frequency but its after a code.
VK4TS wrote:
VKCL.PNG
Would that give you the detail you are after ?
Daniel
VK5DF
PF94HW

User avatar
VK4TS
Forum Diehard
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: VKCL Transverter settings

Post by VK4TS » Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:28 pm

What a shame - I looks like it is there but not quiet..

I cannot see anywhere to activate the OmniRig programme - Has that been dropped from this version of VKCL ?
Trent VK4TS
PO Box 275 Mooloolaba 4557
Mobile 0408 497 550 vk4ts@wia.org.au

User avatar
VK3ALB
Forum Diehard
Posts: 1241
Joined: Sat Dec 22, 2007 3:56 am
Location: Geelong

Re: VKCL Transverter settings

Post by VK3ALB » Thu Nov 12, 2015 1:35 pm

Hi Trent, OmniRig is a separate package. Once you install it VKCL will detect it and give you an option in the contest configuration window. There is no need to start OmniRig separately, in fact if you do so you'll have problems getting it to work in VKCL.
Lou - VK3ALB

I'll decide how I enjoy my hobby.

User avatar
VK4TS
Forum Diehard
Posts: 426
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2012 6:14 am
Contact:

Re: VKCL Transverter settings

Post by VK4TS » Mon Nov 16, 2015 7:08 am

Checked with VK3AVV and the full feature will be available in the future...

Onwards and upwards !!!

Summer, hot weather, 2M openings, damn it, better get the antennae installed :D
Trent VK4TS
PO Box 275 Mooloolaba 4557
Mobile 0408 497 550 vk4ts@wia.org.au

Post Reply