WSPR setup

WSPR discussion

Re: WSPR setup

Postby VK4KL » Tue Jan 06, 2015 11:28 am

I ended up buying one of these for wspr/jt65. Had a lot of problem setting up on wspr but worked first time on jt65. Could not get this interface to work with almost any version of wspr until i unistalled wspr and downloaded WSPR-X v0.8 r3058 after setting the parameters the software works. Dont ask me why I have no idea we'll just blame windows. Tried getting the same interface working on a MacBook Pro with absolutely no luck. WSPR works ok with audio to/from radio to Mac but I have to use VOX. Have installed the Prolific Driver on the Mac used the terminal program to interogate the interface which says it is there but cant get the WSPR program to talk to interface so I gave up.

Adrian
Attachments
image.jpg
Adrian
VK4KL
QG53xd
VK4KL
Forum Diehard
 
Posts: 227
Joined: Wed Mar 27, 2013 7:50 pm
Location: Yarraman the Queensland one

Re: WSPR setup

Postby VK7HH » Tue Jan 06, 2015 12:52 pm

I've gotten my WSPR interface made up, but it seems I am having issues with high RX audio.

Using Pin 5 of the IC7000 Data Socket which is AF Out. I put a 10K pot in series, but this seems to cause erratic behaviour.
VK7HH
Forum Diehard
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Southern Tasmania

Re: WSPR setup

Postby VK3ZAZ » Tue Jan 06, 2015 1:05 pm

VK4KL
your decodes are fine here
The USB Dongle is great buy
I use it on DX3000 and IC821
My wspr setup hears threshold at -30 stations from all over including VK6
I would never join a club that would have me as a member. :om:
Groucho Marx
User avatar
VK3ZAZ
Forum Diehard
 
Posts: 755
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 1:46 pm
Location: Hamilton Victoria Australia

Re: WSPR setup

Postby VK2KRR » Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:02 pm

Hayden,

What WSPR version do u use? with WSPR X, my audio levels are about +22dB.
Leigh VK2KRR
The Rock Hill, NSW

Station monitoring Tropospheric & Ionospheric propagation 24 hours a day
User avatar
VK2KRR
Forum Diehard
 
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: The Rock Hill, Sthrn NSW.

Re: WSPR setup

Postby VK7HH » Tue Jan 06, 2015 3:06 pm

VK2KRR wrote:Hayden,

What WSPR version do u use? with WSPR X, my audio levels are about +22dB.


Hi Leigh.

I've been running WSPR 2.0.

Set RX audio to -0dB. This fluctuates with band noise, but according to the manual +-10dB doesn't make too much of a difference
VK7HH
Forum Diehard
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Southern Tasmania

Re: WSPR setup

Postby VK2KRR » Tue Jan 06, 2015 5:44 pm

Hayden

WSPR 2.0 has much less features than other versions.

Try download Version 2.21 - http://www.physics.princeton.edu/pulsar ... _r2286.EXE

If u dont want to use WSPR-X that is.
Leigh VK2KRR
The Rock Hill, NSW

Station monitoring Tropospheric & Ionospheric propagation 24 hours a day
User avatar
VK2KRR
Forum Diehard
 
Posts: 1654
Joined: Fri Apr 08, 2011 6:16 pm
Location: The Rock Hill, Sthrn NSW.

Re: WSPR setup

Postby VK7HH » Tue Jan 06, 2015 9:12 pm

VK2KRR wrote:Hayden

WSPR 2.0 has much less features than other versions.

Try download Version 2.21 - http://www.physics.princeton.edu/pulsar ... _r2286.EXE

If u dont want to use WSPR-X that is.



Thanks Leigh.

From the documentation I read I didn't think I'd need WSPR-X.

OK I'll try WSPR 2.1 thanks. I didn't realize that it was available. I shifted my TX frequency up a bit too. It was set to .450, so I'm not sure why it was so low.
VK7HH
Forum Diehard
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2005 11:18 pm
Location: Southern Tasmania

Previous

Return to WSPR

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest